What causes a factory reset?

A factory reset is triggered when one of the following events occur:

  1. Sending a WIPE_DATA command from Controller will cause the device to perform a factory reset while retaining the latest project configuration that was deployed to the device. Note: The device will remain in its original group.
  2. Sending a REFURBISH command from Controller will cause the device to perform a factory reset, but also wipe the project configuration that was deployed to the device. Note: The device will be moved to the unassigned group and will need to be provisioned into an account. The device will disappear from the original account's unassigned group once the device is provisioned to a different account.
  3. Moving a device to the unassigned group.
  4. Moving a device from one group to another group with a different project deployed to it. Example: Your device is currently in group_a running project_a and you move your device to group_b where project_b is deployed. When the device moves to group_b it will perform a factory reset and then install project_b.
  5. Moving a device from one group to another group with zero deployments and then deploying a new project. Example: Your device is in group_a running project_a and you move your device to group_b where there are no projects deployed. When the device moves to group_b, a factory reset will not be performed, since there are zero deployments in group_b. Only when a new or different project is deployed to group_b will the device perform a factory reset and then install the deployed project.
  6. Deploying an older project to a group of devices. Example: Your device is currently in group_a, running project_a version 2. If you deploy project_a version 1 to group_a then the device will perform a factory reset and then install project_a version 1.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us